January 3, 2006

  • Such a wondrous and peculiar time of year, where simply the date January 1 can give hope to the lives of Americans.  In the form of annual resolutions people construct plans, goals, missions, and all their greatest desires for the new year. 

    Yet we quite haven’t figured it out have we?

    The world today is very much the same as it was thousands of years ago: there is poverty, wars, and the tribulations of every man’s life. Shouldn’t one think that if a solution to overcome misfortune were found that it would have been told and the world would be perfect?

    Yet this is one of the mysteries of God.  For He treasures that which may be found in the quiet and secret convictions of a person’s soul.  The apostle Paul writes, “No, we speak of God’s secret wisdom, a wisdom that has been hidden and that God destined for our glory before time began… but God has revealed it to us by his Spirit.”

    That just so fascinates me that the entire human race can search for the key to success and contentedness and still miss it even though it exists.  How can something that exists and be applied in people’s lives and work remain a secret?  That, my friends, is the gift of faith.  And faith cannot be mass distributed like the other attempts at achieving the ideal world: strategies, motivational books, theories, and the like.  Faith is achieved on individual account, and that is why the world remains as it is: faith is a secret industry; where a man’s own faith in God can create his joy from trial to trial and day to day in life.  This is the faith I own, and wish for it to guide me through 2006, as it has 2005. 

    Break was relaxing, and I am glad for the time-off.  Although, it helps me realize the benefits of school: on my own, I am rather lazy.  Even if all I learn in school is pointless, the entity of school will prepare me for the meaningful (Such as the waking-up-early-to-work life). 

    And that brings us to this post’s confusing matter:  A person who cooks is called a “cook”, the present tense of the verb that he does.  A person who bakes is called a “baker.”  Confusing? But that’s not all.  A baker is the one who “bakes” the “cookies.” Should it not be a cooker who cooks a cookie?  Rather, he is not called a cooker, and a baker bakes a cookie.  It doesn’t follow my line of thinking, and I’m sure whoever devised the system got a lot of hate mail after it came out.   

    I would like to put a word in for all 2005 Waffle Friday participants, you rock. And also to all Bunco6 competetors, nice work.  

    Word is that there are people who participate in “bunco leagues” which is almost unfathomable.  It is a game where you roll dice to see who wins, and that is the entirety of the game.  There is no board, pieces, or any sort of creative addition to the game: it is just rolling dice.  I have liked playing the game the two times I have done so, but I would not be able to participate in a league that flies on the wings of luck so often.      

     Alrighty then, I have just given a terribly wordy and discursive post.  I certainly hope you didn’t waste your time reading it all.  But then again I do.  See, I’m rambling again! What an awful habit.  Perhaps I will try to ramble less in 2006.  How excellent that would be! I certainly admire the non-rambling sort of human. Crap! Sorry! I’m stopping!

    Have a wonderful adventure of thrills and faith in 2006! Farewell!

    “I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want.  I can do everything through him who gives me strength.”  

    Phillipians 4:12-13

Comments (17)

  • I wasn’t going to go anyways.  But thankyou for reminding me.

  • Well, Phil, you did quite a nice job rambling on about bakers and cooks.  I have an argument to present to you.  Rather, it’s more of an idea, a proposal, if you will.  I hear people and admit to saying this phrase myself: “We played cards.”  The initial response is “What game did you play?” 
    Which brings me to my point: there should be a game called Cards.  So instead of having to find out what game someone played after they speak of playing cards; it should be a known item.  If you choose, I would like to design a game called cards.  It doesn’t necessarily have to involve a deck of cards either; it could be a boardgame.  Get back to me on that one.  Maybe a summer activity?

  • well said phil, well said.
    and thank you, I agree by now my picture is a classic and i intend on keeping it that way.

  • so i gave mr. dempsey a high five and i think i just might have spread my cold along to him.
    maybe i’m on your side after all? i don’t know.

  • Phillipians 4:13 is by far my favorite verse.  : )  Who is this, by the way?

  • wow.. ur site is so inspiring!

  • Hi Philip, glad i found your xanga! i saw you in school today and almost said hi, but i didn’t know if you would remember me! ill talk to you later phil! leave some comments!
    alyssa

  • ^^^ who’s that hot chick?^^^ hah!
    Awesome stuff Phil, I love it. You are by far one of the smartest people our age around here. That baker, cookie stuff just mad me think a ton. :) Good stuff man, watch out for the cops though, I heard the had a warrant out for your arrest. HAHA!!! good times man, many more to come. Laterz.
    And yes, I am your rival, bring it on.

  • Phil! why don’t you go to bed at normal times?

  • phil!!!! thanks for coming to my hosue the other day…hope that music didnt frighten you too bad!!! : )

  • Woah.. this google earth thing.. amazing!?!
    Hey.. so I very much enjoy reading your posts but I don’t have time to read it right at this moment..because I have to do homework..
    So I’m printing it out for some light-reading tonight..I hope you don’t mind.
       — Joe

  • nice post, kinda forgot a bit bout it, cuz ive been distracted talking to a friend about how to get in shape and stuff about health. But i agree about faith. Wheter its a faith in god or some suprbeing, or faith in yourself, you gotta find it within. also that buncoo game kinda sounds funny that they have a league for it. No offense tho.

  • …as in Mendola??  Phil Nye??  My favorite…

  • Oh, okay 3 am, i thought you were up at some other time.  i can’t believe i missed waffle friday

  • whats waffle friday?!?! oh yeah, hi phil!

  • Wow you write well – even 7 years ago. There is a lot of who you and who you are becoming – on these pages Thank you for your presence Philip. God bless!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *