February 1, 2006

  • A Fire Worth Stoking


    I posted once before on the multiplicity of like objects giving the finest glory.  If you didn’t read it, do so because it preludes this post. It’s the September 1st post here: http://www.xanga.com/StrokeofThought?nextdate=8%2f5%2f2005+1%3a49%3a8.423&direction=p.


    Offer the distasteful back alley of society a sharp stare and you will notice something: the drunkards, suicidal persons, and cowards of life all share a similar feature: they lack real friends.  “Lonely” is the diagnosis of a friendless person.  Loneliness is the father of despair, and despair is the father of a wasted life.  An honest friend would not let their companion waste their life, instead they would challenge them find a life worth the agony.  And on that basis I state that the above people do not own such comrades.     


    “Carry each other’s burden’s, and in this way you will fulfill the law of Christ.”    Galatians 6.2


    One of the primary themes of being a disciple of Christ is exactly this: creating potent friendships.  Examine a metaphor:


    Imagine a lone candle burning on a table.  Merely lean in to the candle and blow and the flame will die instantly.  Now consider a bonfire, where log upon log has been stacked until the flames have reached monumental heights.  What happens when you blow on the fire?  Why, it enhances the fire’s immensity! 


    So it is with life.  Stand alone, and a person is bound to fall when the winds of trouble blow their way.  However, tribulations antagonizing a united front of people will only add to their strength.  That’s what happens when you aggregate a group of passionate people who have all been set on fire by Christ.  They act in supplementary form, and when they are consolidated into a massive unit they coruscate the glory of God.


    There is power in numbers.  There is power in love.  Add both together, and what do you get?  An awesome, impervious power. 


    All we have to do now is spread like wildfire.


    Further reading: 1 John: 7-21. 


    And now I am off to write my closing argument for mock trial.  Farewell fond friends, I hope I next find you in fine fettle.


    And just remember, anyone whoever said, “I’m at a loss for words,” didn’t really mean it.


    This night is finite so why not have a fine night?

Comments (15)

  • Ah Man, good stuff. I agree,we are like a band of brothers in SV, and sisters of course. Lazer tag friday afterwords? Yea? Oooo yea!

  • Yes Phil I did see “Goodnight and Goodluck”.  I liked it a lot.  There was a lot of history in it, and I enjoyed how they added a lot of society references that were common during that time.  I would say it’s a good view.

  • Very interesting post.  And I even learned a new word – although I believe the spelling is coruscate (to give forth flashes of light / glitter).  I’m looking for more of those “potent friends” who can challenge me.  Fan the flame! 

    Stop by some time:  http://www.xanga.com/BeadMan

    Ron

  • hey phillip! :  )  i would have to say that your dancing skills were quite impressive as well!  i’ll be seeing you! later gator! : )

  • Awesome metaphor.  (Or analogy) whatever it’s called these days. peace.

  • a while back natalie emailed me that essay of yours, on high school dating… sadly enough, the first opprotunity that i was given to read it was today in class when i had nothing better to do.
    i applaud you, phillip. terrificly written, and so insightful. it inspired me. a job well done.

    =]

  • that was beautiful, that entire post.  And it’s just what I needed too, offered insight into a situation I’m dealing with right now.  I’m pretty sure you didn’t plan it like that when you wrote this, but I’m thinking maybe somebody else might have…

  • 00h, $0rr% 1 P1Pn’7 |{n0w 17 w05#P P0 7h47.

    m4%b3 1 $h05#P j5$7 $71(|{ 70 #337, b3$1P3$ 1

    7h1n|{ n473 w05#P b3 5p$37 1 h3 |{n3w 7h47 1 h4P 4b4nP0n3P 17 0r b1n4r%. 1 4Pv1$3 P3#371n9 7h47 4b0v3 (0mm3n7.

  • phil, that binary slander on rachels xanga…how could you say such a thing?! my mother is not!!!11!!1!

  • …you cannot serve both God and eprops.

  • I know this is a bit late…but you were simply amazing in the play!! : )

  • I like the sound of passionate group of people who have all been set on fire for Christ. Passion is something i like.

  • i agree with nate. give up this whole ‘eprop awarding’ business.

    the purpose of eprops, i think, is to see how many different people have left comments or to notice that many comments have been left by the same person.  by only giving 0-1 eprops, you are making your friends look like losers.

  • is it hott in here or is it just you phil? mmm i think its just you.

    you and rachel better not be plotting against jason and i. im watching you!!!!! BEWARE

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *