November 16, 2006

  • Sorry for the delay!  There was an accident on the highway of thoughts in my brain; thoughts were backed up for miles.  However, thanks to our tip top emergency officials, traffic is moving along steadily once more!  No thoughts were hurt in the accident. 

    Speculation about the birth of the documentary makes me smile.  Originally, the idea of the documenatary was a seriatum of interiews with people and the showing of pictures while a narrator is heard overhead.  At this point the documentary was missing something, but what?  It needed a hook, a grab, something that would keep people captivated from each frivolous detail to frivolous detail.  Then sudenly, it dawned on one of the first documentarists what the documentary desperately needed, “A HA! I’ve got it! …. we’ll zoom in on the stillframe pictures while they’re on the screen.  Ehhh? Ehhh?”  Giddily, all the other documentarists immediately agree, and thus was born the defining feature of the modern documentary: the zoom in.  Sure just looking at a picture is nice, but you just can’t beat the thrill that comes from zooming in on one. 

    The secret to ensuring the alarm clock will wake you up for the day is by putting it across the room.  However, I have found out that I just as easily run across the room to turn off my alarm clock and run back to my bed to fall asleep as I did when it was right by my bed. 

    I don’t know what wars all about.  If you’ve ever seen a satellite photograph of the earth you can clearly see that the color green has conquered the earth and doesn’t seem to be leaving anytime soon.

    Bally well then, have a fair evening!

Comments (2)

  • documentaries are so entriguing. to me. most of them.

    The zoom is a staple in documentaries. My favorite part about some documentaries?

    the awkward situations they FORCE the people to par-take in. As if they say to them “Hey, go play soccer in the backyard with your kids”. Its just so….awkward.

    But i like to watch them, because you know theyre all like “Anything for a movie!!”
    Ohhh yes. im done now.

  • …i like the whole idea highway traffic jam metaphore…nice man…

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *