March 10, 2007

  • I certainly do lend out my credulity arbitrarily, even when it is important that I not do so.  The main instance I am thinking of here is with soap.  What if soap is just one big hoax?  In fact, it almost appears as if soap was designed to be a scam.  Think about it.  When science started discovering germs and bacteria, the government probably predicted widespread panic and despair by the public because of the nature of such pervasive and irresistable enemies.  With society in a state of perpetual fear, eventually all of the world’s interworkings would grind to a halt.  The government needed a solution to this problem, and came up with the perfect remedy.  They made up this thing called “soap.” 

    Today, in modern bathrooms, the appearance of soap is nothing less than suspicious: colorful slime in a box.  How it supposedly works makes me even more incredulous.  In the bathroom I rinse my hands and then push a lever to get a gooey slab of this substance known as “soap” because somehow, when mixed with water and briefly smeared all over my hands, it magically destroys all the infintesimal attackers on my hands known as germs.  Pretty convenient, eh?   In spite of this, I have staked much of my hope on soap.

    Soap’s main purpose is to wonderfully save me from potential diseases.  But beyond that, soap has freed me from fear, from gross considerations, and from mental domination by the unseen force called “germs.”  From this perspective, it seems soap is based on nothing but pure faith.  Supposedly somewhere out there is a group of scientists with powerful instruments called microscopes that have verfied the validity of soap’s magical ability to seek and destroy germs in the few moments it is in contact with the hands.  This story was quite plausiby created to secure the public’s credence in soap’s proven cabalilities.  However, what if no scientist actually conducted this work, and every single scientist only assumed that some other scientist must have done the work? 

    Fortunately for the scammers, this project has worked beautifully.  People still get sick, things are still dirty, germs still abound on our hands, but people no longer seem to care because ”soap kills germs!”  If things still go wrong, it is not because of germs.  The public has complete confidence in soap’s ability.  Even if germs still abound, soap makes people think germs have been conquered.  Soap works as the ultimate source of hope and freedom in life from the invisible agents that are called germs.  It is the placebo that has satisfied everyone.  As the current system works, I almost see soap as a religion.  You must believe that the soap somehow cleanses your hands, because you cannot actually see the germs dying.  It’s gooey and it looks nice; I’ll bet it could kill a few germs.  Also like religion, people might say they know soap kills germs because it says so on the bottle.  This is like a person saying that God wrote the Bible because it says so in the Bible

    However, I will continue to wash my hands, not only because what most I have said is a product of my imagination, but because only about 20% of males actually wash their hands.  This way, I will be a “rare find” for the girl I marry. 

    Besides, we all know deep down that soap really works.

    …doesn’t it?

Comments (13)

  • This was really good. Like wow. It really speaks. Well, to me anyway.

    Simone =]

    Yesssss I got first comment. Haha.

  • Yay soap!  Thank you for visiting my Xanga.

  • There’s always Pascal’s Wager, of course.

    If you don’t believe in soap, just use alcohol instead. Or maybe an open flame, ’cause everyone knows that that works, too.

  • Unfortunately for your theory, soap predates our knowledge of germs. Not all soap is antibacterial, after all. Plain old-fashioned pre-Pasteur soap is just a good degreaser, ash and lye and whatnot.

  • It always gets me when how antibacterial soap ads claims(ed?) to kill “99.9% of harmful bacteria.” Boy, I’d be comforted to know there’s only .1% of the original amount of cat feces in my dinner.

  • I was going to leave a real comment but I’m now sitting here wondering why the guy who commented above me has cat feces in his dinner.

    I think there are other things he should probably be doing rather than cruise around Xanga.

    Now if you’ll excuse me, I haven’t washed my hands in 2 hours and I can just feel the germs multiplying by the thousands on my hands.

  • That’s good stuff.  Good analogy.  Most people might be content to believe that soap kills germs because someone said so, but I think it’s possible to prove it actually does kill germs. 

  • i’m glad you have decided to be a rare find for whom ever you marry phil. washing your hands is very good, very good indeed!!

  • enjoyed the post :)

    absolutely ♥ the background. where did you find it?

  • It doesn’t necessarily kill germs, but it can make the germs slippery (you think I’m kidding, don’t you) and help rinse some off. Ditto Chris Russo’s comment.

  • Sorry Phil.  I’m not sure if I agree that your theory on girl-catching is completely accurate.  When it comes down to it.. soap can fight off those diseases.. but unfortunately for you sir.. if the man is smart enough to use cologne/deoderant.. those germs are microscopic.. and the “clean-men-deserving-women” will never see the “dirty man” coming.  Unless.. the women have a very powerful microscope.. and can somehow work a “sciene project germ test” into some kind of awfully weird date idea with the men and expose them for the germy people they really are. 

    And yet, the likelihood is low.

    Maybe you shouldn’t bank on the whole, “marry me because I’m clean!”  thing.  I’d say.. emphasis your strengths.  Cleanliness being ruled out.. though I commend you for blogging about soap.

      — joe.

  • Haha you’re so clever. I love how you tied our faith in soap to our faith in God. I think it’s important to realize that even if a person says they dont have faith in anything, it requires a lot of faith just to live. I find it comical that we believe so easily anything man tells us, but have trouble mustering up enough faith to believe in a God who loves us and is bigger than us and our germy problems. This world is an odd place.   

  • I realize that probably no one else has read this particular post for quite some time. The title intrigued me. My goal today is to think of something interesting. ..Like what would happen if soap was actually a scam invented by the government.

    I used to think outside the box like you. What happened to me?
    And I sit there thinking about how much friends actually influence our lives. Do you mind if I leave lots of footprints on your page? I’m lonely for deep thoughts.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *