August 10, 2007

  • Suppose you are in a nice sit-down restaurant where the tables are relatively close together.  If some people near you left, and they happened to leave a dish that for the most part was untouched on the table, would you eat it? 

    On this subject, consider several sources of influence.  There is probably some stake on the quality of the dish; the consideration that the food is going to be thrown away; also how hungry you are.

    Although, with the responses I’ve received so far in person, the better question might be whether you would even consider eating it.

    Best to all of you!

Comments (8)

  • Not only would I consider it, I probably wouldn’t consider for very long before doing it. It would depend somewhat on whether I could determine the reason for leaving the dish, though — was it undercooked or nasty, or was it just because the person was full or had to leave?

  • Were you at Starbucks the other day???

    I swear my best friend did this…no lie.

    There was a cookie on a plate at another table….not touched or eaten off…and she bent over checked it out and popped it right into her mouth …”can’t let a good cookie go to waste” she said!

    I just said …EW!!

  • Dude, I ate other people’s food all the time at this sushi restaurant I worked at. We ALL did!!!

    People would buy large orders of hand made sushi… untouched… or practically untouched… and to throw it away seemed like a crime. We were scavengers in the kitchen… and even though it was not my job to bus tables… I did… for the sushi!

    The food was like works of art and made with such quality… I’d do it again in a heart beat!

  • My dad did it all the time when my parents were dating, from what I hear.  I don’t think I would, though.  Too much risk that the person had an STD. 

  • I definitely would.  They call me a scavanger.

  • no i haven’t started yet
    soon

  • You cant get an STD from FOOD! Thats the weirdest thing ever!

    Yeah, I got my genital warts from a cheeseburger….

    Not even if I rubbed the cheeseburger where the sun dont shine I still wouldnt get an STD.

    Now you MIGHT get hepatitus A but thats not a sexually transmitted disease. This is usually if the food is prepared with someone who cant wash their hands when preparing food.

    We have more to fear from food contamination such as e coli, Botulinum, salmonella… but this has to do with foods gone bad. Not foods exposed on a table for an hour. Unless theres a terrorist in the building poisoning the food….

    Thats more likely than getting an STD from food.

  • I don’t know…that is a tough one. On basic instinct I’d say no…but then again…it really depends on what the food is…how expensive, and as you said…how hungry I am. If it was absolutely untouched…and something to be seriously desired…I might think about it, but I think I’d be intimidated by the idea that someone might see me doing it. Peace.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *