August 17, 2007

  • The Storm

     

    Fear not, for I have pictures of the lightning in each of these videos for further enjoyment.  Here is the lightning from the first clip:

    AW YEAH

    I could only get the thick bolt from the second clip (the one that flashes for like a whole second). There’s a branched bolt that flashes before it, but I couldn’t find the stillframe of it in the editing program I have because it would always skip over it.  Here’s the thick bolt though:

    Light Ning _2__0001

    And finally, the grand finale.  This one hit about thirty meters from me, right by the house across the street.  You can tell because it is obviously in front of that tree that appears behind it.   It doesn’t look as cool in real-time, so I had no idea what had just hit after it did.  If I had known a thing like this had landed so close to me, I possibly might not have opted to go out into the storm later (see last post).  This shot was captured from my doorstep.  The following shot is a bolt that happened a millisecond or so afterwards.  The third picture is the skeleton bolt of this first picture.  In the third picture you can see the tree that is on my side of the street that obscures the view of where the awesome bolt hit the ground, which is too bad.

    Awesome Light Ning_0001

    Skeleton

    It’s sort of like those people in the movie Twister that chase tornadoes, only it’s lightning bolts instead.  Getting the actual bolts was the tricky thing, because the sky was flashing pretty consistently, you just had no idea where the bolt actually was.  The sky flashing is pretty cool, but the bolts are the ”money shots,” as it were.

    Too bad I didn’t get the lightning from my last post on tape.  If I had it on tape then the people I tell about it wouldn’t think I’m insane.   People I tell in person are like, “I see, so it was really big, huh? Whatever you say, Phil.”

Comments (8)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *