December 1, 2007

  • Minds are Weird

    In my mind there are millions of triggers connected to certain thingssmells, sights, sounds, a familiar face, a specific phrase, or myriads of other miscellaneous instances from my past.  One touches my mind andFlash!I feel something of old.

    Printed words can only mean a pathetic fraction of words spoken to you with a voice, a timbre, a million different stretches of the skin in the person’s face producing a visage, all in the context of a billion surrounding emblazoned pixels, staring back into your eyes. 

    It is weird that I can think about life while living it at the same time.  It is like a boy in an art museum staring silently at a picture of him in the museum looking at the picture.  When he returns from his stare, how odd it is to realize that he himself is alive.

    A logical thought exists as a dry chunk, yet we can soften it up and string it out into sentences so to play it on people’s minds, and impress on them with delicacy and force the meaning we want it to. 

Comments (7)

  • I must agree with you…minds are wierd.  And I can’t help to think that the mind will never shut off.  Death will not stop consciousness.  The mind will always remember.  It will go on for all eternity.  Ever wonder if the mind is truly the soul? 

  • Good thoughts.  About the thinker.  :)   I’ve been amused lately with how the brain computes dreams.  How it has to have a certain amount of information and images about a person until it can put that person realistically (as themselves) into a dream.  Quite interesting.

  • Minds are weird.  My own seems to have dozens of thousands of conections based on seemingly insignificant details. 

    I disagree with your second paragraph, though.  Printed words just require different things to make them importent.  In a normal conversation, I can see someones face, hear their vocial intonation, read their body laugauge, so to speak.  In text, I can use a varity of laugauge subities assumed but less-expressed in normal conversations, like different spellings of the word-sound “there,” abbriviations, and so on.  A story teller uses his intonation, facial expression, and gestures to convey lots of meaning.  A novel writer, lacking these things, uses “colorful” or concrete expressions or phrases, like “He could have stared down a rock then,” or, because he’s on a different time schedual then other story tellers, can use hundreds of pages developing emotional conections with certain terms or expressions, and then use those terms to create dramatic scenes in their time.   

  • ryc: I can’t say it would have meant more, but I can say that it would have felt like it meant more. 

  • “…to be alone is to be tortured by him…”

    my mind is male, and i often long to euthanize him.

  • hmmm… interesting writing… yes it is nice to be able to WRITE something that’s positive and happy… most of the stuff I write is sad and depressing… not that I am a depressed person, but that’s when I’m usually inspired the most (if you read any of my other blog entries, which isn’t much)…

    yea i’m a big time calvin and hobbes fan, i also enjoy get fuzzy and dilbert, but C&H is my all time favorite! In fact I have a friend who’s probably done everything Calvin has (except making those glorious snow-scenes haha!!) Yes, that included the using a blanket and jumping out of the second floor window and landing in a rose bush!

    anywho… I’ll have to go through and read some more of your stuff… take care!

  • You know, I’m trying to think of a time since I started reading your posts that my mind wasn’t blown, and I can’t think of one…  Keep it up. 

    Be blessed!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *