May 19, 2008

  • There are some things people say that, if applied consistently, would make for an extremely odd world.  But the reason that people say them is because they are frequently used by other people, which I suppose prevents the person presently saying one of them from examining their logical ends. 

    “Was I talking to you?”  Applied universally, no one would be allowed to talk.  Ever.

    “Because I can.”  At any given moment, one must doing whatever they can.  Apparently possibility is a sufficient condition to cause someone to do something.

    “You don’t know where that’s been.”  No one would be able to touch or eat anything that is not themself, since the only thing you know the perpetual location of is yourself.  Although for me that is not really true, since I get lost a lot. 

    There are others that I am having trouble thinking of.  What about “ladies first” in the case of a co-ed SWAT team?  Does the guy break down the door, and then the females go first?  I would guess that “ladies first” does not apply with a gunman confirmed to be in the building. 

    I just saw my friend Drew onto a bus to Chicago where he is going to be homeless for forty days.  (His theme/facebook group is “Love is Free”.)  Pray for him if you remember.  I know I will be! 

    So long everybody!

Comments (7)

  • “Don’t even try to understand”

    Is that one?

  • Excellent post, I’ll definitely think of this next time I say “because I can”

  • What about, “Because I said so.”?  Wouldn’t that universally exterminate the use of logic and reason?  *shrugs*

    So….this is Megan, and yes, I finally cracked and went back to my poor, lonely Xanga.  It’s rather pathetic, but since Facebook is out, and Myspace is not an option because…it’s ridiculous…the prodigal daughter has returned for the month.

    Come read my last entry. 

  • So….I listened to that sermon.

    I’m not sure whether I’m enlighted or more confused.  =P  *sigh*

    Oh, btw… I sent you a message.

  • *enlightened

    Grrr.  I’m catching your disease, Phil.

  • Hey. So I’m not sure if you have ever even heard my name mentioned (hopefully you have) but I’m Megan’s bf, Lindsay. She’s told me a lot about you, and I’ve read a few of your posts. So I thought I’d come and say hello. So, hello. lol

  • “Logic! Why don’t they teach them logic at these schools!” apparently, they did at your school. Well thought.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *