December 1, 2008

  • “What a chimera, then, is man!”

    In all my life, life is definitely the weirdest thing I’ve encountered.

    Biology. While I live I only see the world, but millions of things are going inside me? And I don’t experience them at all?  Cell replication!  Blood on the move!  Chemical secretion, metabolism, billions of firing neurons!  I may be bored, but my busy biological bureaucracy of a body continues its infinite work, and I think of it, grabbing my arms and abdomen thinking, what is happening inside me!  What crazy thing am I!

    Conversations.  If we are around people we know, we have to say things?  And we don’t know ahead of time what we will say, like in a play, but rather we have to think of what to say right on the spot?  Oh my!  How many options there are!  The words, the facial expression, the tones of voice!  And yet we must pick them all instantly.  Can’t we call a timeout when we don’t know what to say? 

    Voices.  I say something.  Ah.  So that is what I sound like?  And if I ever want to talk, that is the sound I have to use?  And it is the same with everyone, so every person has their own built-in, copyrighted sound?  Wow!  What anticipation there must be before you hear someone speak for the first time, to hear what their sound is like!

    I. So I am in my head?  And standing in a room of people, I can see all of them, but I can’t see myself?  What!  And to every other person it is the same to them?  So if I want to know how I am perceived, I must replay the day in my mind, imagining I was every person who saw me that day, at the moment they started seeing me?  How weird it is that each person is in their head!

    Thoughts. I see a crowd of thousands sitting, quietly listening to a speech.  But then the speech ends, and it becomes loud and noisy.  That whole time!  Invisible things were filling the air above their heads, each person having many of them!  But people don’t have to tell us all their thoughts, so life becomes a mystery where we must try to figure out who people are?  There are so many people, how difficult it becomes to keep track of all the clues.

    What interesting elements form the symphony of our experience.  A fascinating show!  How easy it is to forget to be the aliens we came here as.  We are all so sleepy.

Comments (3)

  • Thank you.
    Sounds delicious.

  • I’ve noticed your blog has been becoming more of a notebook for your delightfully absurd meanderings. Haha. Keep it up. I enjoy reading them. =P

  • @yello_lego - 

    Glad you enjoy them!  Though I do try to balance.  But yes, more so, xanga, I think for all people, is a place of the mind.  It doesn’t seem many of anyone’s xanga posts would make for very good conversations (think of all the poetry).  In fact, they were going to call them “mindlogs” but “mlog” didn’t flow as easily off the tongue as “blog.”  And I think we’re all happy for that. 

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *