December 16, 2008

  • Good morning, friends!

    On Sunday an Iraqi news reporter threw a shoe at George Bush, and one thing is clear: that it was a tremendous sign of disrespect for Bush and his foreign policy.  What’s not so clear is whether if Bush would have caught the shoe the reporter would have been out. 

    Meanwhile, back in the U.S. my little brother and I were shopping at Target, and while walking around I suddenly got a nosebleed.  Fascinating.  It must be a latent camoflauging instinct suddenly emerging at this point in my life.

    I have decided to become a vegan. But since that’s such an enormous project, I’ve decided to do it slowly, by giving up one animal each month.  This month is koala bears.  Next month is elephants.  After that is giraffes.  And just like the WMO has all the hurricane names planned out, I have all the animals planned out for the rest of my life.  Barring the extinction of any animals on my schedule, I won’t get to anything important before my 112th birthday, at which point I will probably not be able to eat them anyway.

    Ever suddenly realize you’re in a room and wonder why you’re there?  Sometimes I think that will happen to me one day only I’ll be in another country.

    Saying things in conversation is great, because it’s like quoting yourself on something for the first time ever.

    I just love this point in our trip around the sun.  Happy Holidays everybody!

Comments (12)

  • I read your entry about “vegan” to my roommate and he laughed and said in protest he is going to eat a new animal each month starting with the koala bear. lol.

  • Ahahah, I doubt bleeding to color oneself red would be a very helpful survival mechanism. =P You’ve shared the god bless you thought with us before. ;) And hopefully Obama is as adept at dodging flying projectiles…

  • So clever, as always.

    @vangelicmonk - 

    Hey, have you ever seen the movie “The Freshman”? It stars Matthew Broderick and Marlon Brando. Everyone should see that movie just because it’s made of awesome, but your roomie’s comment reminded me of it.

    @yello_lego - 

    Yes, I noticed that, too. I guess we are true fans.

  • @BooksForMe - haha, really?  I haven’t seen it.  I will put it on my “blockbuster” list of movies I get in the mail. 

  • Don’t forget that there are two species of elephant: you’ll need to spread your initial abstention from pachyderms over 2 months–or three if scientists succeed in resurrecting the woolly mammoth.

  • @BooksForMe - 

    @yello_lego - 

    Ohmygosh! I couldn’t believe it at first, but then I went back and checked.  Can’t believe that happened.

    Obama used to play basketball, he would have caught it for sure.  Although judging from the many assassination predictions I’ve heard, he’ll be needing to dodge a very different kind of flying projectile.  But judging from frenzied hype about him, it seems he’s The Chosen One and he’ll be able to handle that alright as well.

  • @vangelicmonk - 

    ahahaha…I hope there weren’t any animal rights activists around..cute wittle koala bears being slaughtered for human consumption…..actually, I’m a little flustered myself. 

    @IsaacClarke - 

    Man, and if I just spread out all the different kinds of beetles, I’ll be set for several reincarnations as well. 

  • What’s not so clear is whether if Bush would have caught the shoe the reporter would have been out. ”  = Best line ever. 

    LOL.  This whole thing made my day. 

  • You puttered around on my site recently, so I decided to stalk you back.

    You seem quirky.
    You’re apparently claiming to be from Ohio.
    I think we could be friends, heh.

    ~V

  • @StrokeofThought - Haha, yes. Just what I was thinking. I fear for the man’s life.

  • I suddenly had a nose bleed when I was studying sunday night and also 6:30 on Monday morning…

    Happy Holidays to you too

  • Hilarious! Made my day.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *