September 16, 2009

  • Enjoying the improbable

    There is only one name which it is not alright for people to call me, and that is Paul. That is the name of my little brother, and thus my parents are always calling me Paul.  They claim it is because they both start with the same letter, which baffles me because they of course nonetheless have different sounds.  It also makes it somewhat tempting to start spelling my name with an F. 

    Anyways, an interesting thing happened yesteday in light of this.  My friend Saul and I went to Noodles & Company, and after I had ordered the cashier handed me a number.  After Saul had ordered, I asked the cashier why Noodles & Company had become so impersonal.  Are we lowly customers now to be relegated to the land of cold and unfriendly numerical anonymity?  The girl who was the cashier responded, “What, do you really want me to be walking around with your food yelling ‘Paul! Paul! Paul!’?”

    Apparently knowing me and my little brother are not preconditions for confusing me with him. 

    It’s also quite interesting because Saul should be Paul, since that was what Saul began to be called once he came to know Jesus.  Thus, the cashier randomly chose the exact name which I should not be called, and the exact name which Saul should be called. 

    Hmmm. 

Comments (2)

  • That is pretty random. The Lord is smiling on you and wants to brighten your day!

  • Hah, fantastic coincidence if you believe in such a thing. On the other hand, one might argue it happened for the sole reason of inspiring a humorous and entertaining blog post. Good post… Fillip.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *