May 19, 2010

  • Build me a home inside your scars

    You stopped me in the middle of my dread
    We thought you were more than a little dead
    But there’s so much wrong with my fickle head
    I only believe when it trickles red

    It is a prerequisite to travel for the world to disappear.

    Home is the place where everything can disappear, and you can explore lands that are far away from here.  For it is only at home that we can ignore everything, while in new places we are always examining everything with wonder and care.  But to find the worlds that truly exist you must forget about this one. 

    ‘Having a sense of reality’ is an invented virtue, one which cannot imagine a purpose for the imagination.  But I can see the same thing you do in ten different ways; that’s why we have our minds.  You stick to the facts and therefore discover nothing about the world. 

    It is very easy to not be a person; all you have to do is wait.  Then you won’t be a person.  A person is a thing that acts.

    People won’t believe you unless they saw you stay a kid.  And how unfair is that?  Why do all you people distrust me about who I am at my core?  When I saw the world, curiosity invaded, and it will never leave.  People assume everyone rolls into one, like everything was made to be boring and unanimous; variation, after all, would wipe out the control we pretend to have.  But the unexpected is what we remember; it is what makes for a good story.

    The soul of the silly is quite simple.  It sees the world as hilarious; who could meet such a sight as the world with unflinching seriousness?  Let us laugh that we have legs, and roll around, because we became alive and found out that we could. 

    The world is serious and silly
    We are both grotesque and guilty
    So play in the mud to be filthy
    For nothing here could ever fill me

    Words don’t do enough; we wrap our arms around someone to say we love them.  Everyone wants there to be a home, a place where they can live in the world they dream about.  It’s deep in the woods, with friends you left long ago; but you remember it, because it is home.  There everyone always hugs, with their smiles and laughter and love, and conversation lasts deep into the night because no one ever gets to bed.  It is home; who would want to?

Comments (5)

  • This is very powerful!

  • “It is very easy to not be a person; all you have to do is wait. Then you won’t be a person. A person is a thing that acts.”

    “When I saw the world, curiosity invaded, and it will never leave. People assume everyone rolls into one, like everything was made to be boring and unanimous; variation, after all, would wipe out the control we pretend to have. But the unexpected is what we remember; it is what makes for a good story.”

    It was those two quotes that made me rec this. :) Every time I rec a post of yours, I sincerely think to myself “EVERYBODY SHOULD READ THIS!” I love your perspective on things, Philip!
    ~V

  • This is awesome! hehe. Being rational is overrated.

  • I’ve been wondering about the purpose for our imagination too. When I was reading Jonah last week I think I might have found some reason behind it. I believe it maybe that God wanted us to imagine Who He is and what He is like through the filter of the Word. I’m sure there are other additional reasons, but I’m guessing thats the beginning of it.

    Also, He has an imagination, and we are created in His image. It also makes me wonder what Jesus is making for the people that choose to spend eternity with Him. Whatever it is, I imagine it a lot like what you described above, without the things this world has that ruin it.

    Thanks for sharing.

  • Intriguing thoughts. I try to be more silly than serious..much more. Thanks.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *