October 30, 2010

  • Psalms of the weary

    I awoke late at night after I slept the day away.

    I married my love, but she left on our anniversary.

    I said see you in the morning, and never saw them again.

    What kind of a world is this?

    I hummed along my way, but even the birds were staring.

    They wanted a speech, but my words were finally gone.

    The moon set under the water, hiding in the thickness.

    Who knows how much mystery there is—

    What kind of a world is this?

    So where is there for my spirit to perch, and find rest?

    To what thought, to what place can I lift my eyes?

    Is there anything in creation that will never say No?

    You are the Lord of all.

    The moon sets, people fade away, and life feels dead.

    But your steady gaze silences whispers in the dark.

    What else would do, even if it lasted forever?

    I find hope to say I want this body after all.

    You create, and you wipe away: life and death are forever yours.

    What kind of a world is this?

    I find you here; may all of this fade into the dimness. 

    Your light shines over all; no other light truly reveals what there is.

    Life, your child’s toy.  You give us this, and we abuse it and you.

    But you never say No. 

    Praise be to the Lord, for we have nothing we can say.

Comments (3)

  • I feel like this should have music to it…

  • The first portion confused me because the narrator sounded a bit resentful, then as I read I realized– ah. Yes, that expresses the weariness with life a lot.

    I like how you point out how His light illuminates everything, but there’s not a different kind of light to show Him. And the ending. You didn’t choose “nothing else” but chose just “nothing”.. interesting.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *