August 2, 2011

  • Spectres and thoughts

    You are not drunk enough to find the truth.

    My man, as long as you hang onto that meaningless dignity, you’ll never see the world for what it is.

    A lover stood and sang a love song with his eyes closed, and so his happiness was all he knew.  Another lover stood and sang a love song with his eyes open, and he loved her all his days.

    The truth is not in ordinary moments.  It comes around the world of dreams, the world of drunkenness, when everything mundane is blurred, and everything true moves before us.

    Everyone searches for the next thing that will make them happy.  We are always listening with these two voices inside, one saying ‘Will this make me happy?’ and another voice, much quieter, much softer, almost dead in most of us, that whispers ‘Will this make others happy?’

    In a time when the dreams of most kids are romantic, hidden, impossible, it’s easy to forget that simple love is all that counts.

    People will never do what you want them to do.  You have a role imagined for each person you know.  They will never play them.  They are not your puppets.  They are not here for your satisfaction.  They lead lives of their own, they wake up each day with hopes and dreams piercing through them.  You are an accident, you found them by mistake, you should not be here at all.  People are not your puppets.  Adapt to the world for you are the imposter.  Stop wishing people would serve you if only they somehow glimpsed the secret importance you know yourself to have. 

    They thought I was preaching, but the whole time I was just explaining that I knew what I was doing was wrong.  Most of what I say is a subtle criticism of myself.

    You call me a hypocrite but I know what I do. A hypocrite is someone who lives more honestly than others.  I write to resuscitate the truths I know I trample.

    If it’s something I don’t want to hear, at least it means we’re getting closer to the truth.  There’s a lot of hope to be had.  People aren’t gone yet, we can make our names new.  Hallelujah.

Comments (5)

  • I especially identify with the one about people not being your puppets. I forget thinking they are there for me all the time when it’s not really the case. We all do lead our own lives without others only choosing to stick with one another because we want to.

  • Why can I never rec your posts?! grrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

    I love the last two. I’m taking them for my FB quotes, haha.

    ~V

  • Wise words as we move through our daily interactions…

  • “A hypocrite is someone who lives more honestly than others.”

  • @TheMarriedFreshman - 

    Victoria….a little off topic, but we were neighbors in my dream last night, and I think I babysat your kids for you.  We were at least neighbors.

    Fancy running into you in my dreams like that. Small dream world!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *