Month: March 2012

  • Spring fog

    To be floating in between everything gives the feeling of being isolated from anything real.  Humanity crows and guffaws at its games, its loud revelry and meaningless dancing, while the heavens hum soft tunes of salvation and communion of the saints.  But to be a human who is not quite with humanity, but not to the heavens, is to be between two worlds, and it is very lonely thing to be looking back and forth at the only places where people truly choose to live their lives. 

    I went back to that dank alleyway years later.  I still couldn’t find your ring.

    You feel amazing things, but you assume other people have a default of emotionlessness, and you can’t just come up to them and assume they know everything and overwhelm them. You have to start somewhere and build it all up. But that’s not being honest – you *really* feel the way you do. And so the world forces us to not be honest.

    But soon enough, while you are on hold waiting for someone to be in a position to understand them, the emotions disappear altogether.

    There has never been a round of applause for loneliness.

    People could not accurately express despair before keyboards.  Only keyboards can go fast enough when the thoughts come stampeding.

    You know barely any people.  And of the people you do know, you barely know them.

    A poem with too much obscurity, and a poem with too little obscurity – neither will affect us much.

    I want someone to read I know will never lie to me.  That I can always go to to find truth.

    “Remember when was everything was simpler?” he said, his arms set on the railing as he looked at the trees.
    “You know everyone says that, and they say it just like that, like they were robbed.  But things would still be simple if we had the integrity to keep them that way.”
    He looked at me sternly, like I had spent the afternoon rummaging through his things.

    Do not read too much.  Slowly the assumption will creep up on you that creativity and the courage to act was only meant for others.

    Rhythms of life – there are so many of them.  And each person seems to have their own in a very real and indelible way.  Some people I know have very different rhythms than other people I know, and I always wonder what would happen if those people met each other. 

    It’s weird how it can seem like nothing real is happening in your life for long amounts of time, but then in a week, a day, a single minute, things will suddenly start happening fast and won’t let up.

    We go the same places, but they feel different in our minds than they used to.  What is it deep in our heads that keeps changing the way everything looks? 

    This spring will be very tiring.  Human minds were meant for clarity at the beginning and ends of things.  So we pray that in the middle of everything, we will not lose ourselves.

  • He gave every moment

    The idea of sacrifice makes sense because the idea of investment doesn’t.

    I have wondered if I could sacrifice for someone, if anyone could ever sacrifice for anyone.  Because a lot of the time when it seems like you are supposedly sacrificing something, you actually end up getting something back.  And if you get a return, it’s not really a sacrifice is it?

    But when you think about how life is a very short thing, and how you don’t know when yours will suddenly be up, you realize that it is a very deep thing to serve another person’s interests, instead of doing something that will benefit yourself.  In a sacrificial action you take your life, which is of a finite value, and give it away to someone else.  You cannot earn your life back later; the part you used is gone, never to return.

    There is an infinite quality of irreplaceability to the finite.  Once you realize how fast the glass of existence is breaking, you see how sacrificial it is to reflect it at someone else.

  • Wakefulness

    The crystalline seascapes sparkled in the daylight beneath which they openly hid the most illustrious wonders.  Waves lapped on the shore to mesmerize threatening bystanders, to numb their curiosity into idle romances.  The oceanic underworld constantly awaited a true visitor, someone who faithfully disbelieved in its placid appearance.

    Two monks spent two months in a rowboat, away from the castle where they were just cattle. 

    “Where do all the stars go during the day, Frederick?”

    “I don’t know.”

    “I feel like I’ve been waiting my whole life for my soul to be flipped inside out.  To turn into my own sort of night.”

    The rowboat spun its fearful children into a dizzying clarity, a mood of a million mentions of meaning and marrying. 

    “I knew a girl once.  She was sweet, but sad.  We always sat in the same tree and talked, but I think she knew I would become a monk.  One night she kissed me on the cheek before running off.  That was the closest I’ve ever been to a woman, and the furthest for I knew it was her goodbye.”

    “I think we’re the only ones who really know women.  You can only see a well that’s infinitely deep from the top.”

    Secret messages passed far and wide in the cerulean deep.  Starfish murmured and mimed their meanings, and they dreamed of the sky where they were born.

    “I don’t think Father Cato likes me.”

    “Your cowl is sideways.” 

    William fixed Frederick’s cowl and then the two looked with knotted faces at the fuscous wavelets passing like uninterested pedestrians all around them. 

    At night stars dotted the skies as William and Frederick slept the sleep of forgotten men.  The starfish, dark orange in the night glow, surfaced like a thousand morose children to behold their homes, the sky whence they had fallen.  Together they sang in starfish tongue:

    Glory to the world of falling skies
    These sad shores are half of heaven
    If only we had landed there!
    Then we too could live as men

    They sank down as the men rose up.  It was still night but the clouds slowly thieved the sky as the slippery rocking of the boat rang bells of languishing rather than love in their hearts.

    “I’m hungry, William.  I’m cold too, but I’d be colder if I could eat.”

    “The Lord will provide.”

    “People who say God has a plan have never seen the darkness.”

    No one said anything.  Not the starfish below, the stars above, nor the men in their hearts.  The whole world was silent.

    The silence was folded neatly and placed within a box, solemnly buried deep within all the meanings of their thoughts.

    “You think people wonder where we’ve gone?”

    “I’ve always had a hunger for outer space.  To see something that was outside of everything.”

    Never again’ are strong words; people paced their planet in fear of the inevitable.  Who wasn’t lost at sea?

    The starfish planted themselves on the ocean floor and twirled in patterns of hope.  The oval boat glided above them, swimming ignorantly through a land of infinite longing. 

    “One day,” Frederick began, speaking in a voice of daylit tears, “Francis brought a bag of barley up to the chapter house from the cellar.  I and others yelled at him for not bringing up the second one that was on the floor in the pantry.  But now I’m remembering clearer than ever before.  I was supposed to bring the second one up.”

    “I wish we could see further than our hearts.”

    They soul-hopped on islands through the night, the sea raised up towards a beckoning sky, full of stars they had finally begun to wish to be, and the horizon-chopped moon that seemed much too big and bright for their sin-grey eyes.   All the while the starfish crooned, a night of hopeful orphans.

  • The district sleeps alone

    I wish I could walk the whole world in one night, just to know where I was. I would see how everything is related, who goes to bed early, who stays up to get drunk, who’s alone and who’s hungry, who sits alone on rooftops and who gets away with evil. Raccoons running into sewers and trains on overpass railroads. A world where you’re alone and you can’t run away from the fact of your own existence. It enlivens you every brush of wind across your face.

    I don’t care for places that don’t admit of human brokenness.

    You realize how many of your reasons are social reasons once you find yourself alone.

    The deepest part of a person is in what they hope for. Because no one knows one can only move toward what one hopes. There must be some evidence for it, yes; but how much can one require?

    There is a large question to be answered. Every intellectual reaches a limit – no one gets beyond estimation, the finding of a higher probability. So there is no idea of a pure intellect; life is based on further assumptions. What are those assumptions? If we don’t recognize them, doesn’t that make us less of a whole intellect?

    The dreamlike way in which our lives connect; this is a good aim of art.

    Driving around the city earlier in the evening I looked at all the houses and remembered how limited we are in our options of where to go. You live in a city of many thousands of buildings, but your city, the one your life actually happens in, is really comprised of only a handful of buildings.

    You don’t see all the people other people chose not to be. People are made in very specific moments, quietly, invisibly, inside their heads, probably a long time ago.

    Sometimes people say they have missed me and that they want to hang out, but they are people I have never really opened up to. I wonder who they think they will be hanging out with.

    If there’s something that’s in our life that we value that we haven’t thought about in awhile, eventually it will pop back up in our thoughts. In this way we have a ‘cycle of thoughts’ that keeps rotating through the things we consider important. But if one thing falls off the cycle maybe we won’t really notice – there are so many things to cycle through, how can you keep track of one little thing that falls through the cracks?  And maybe this would happen to a few things, and new things would subtly take their places in the rotation. This goes on until someday our cycle barely resembles the original cycle. And here we must wonder: are we each our own personal Ship of Theseus?

    Most people think you only need to learn new words until you are about seventeen.

    It is easy to do what the people around you are doing. It is hard to do what you value.

    If you don’t work well with another person, either your hopes are not the same, or you disagree about how you would best achieve those hopes.

    Everyone’s got a person they always love being around.

    I feel like other people speak into my writing while they’re not even here. But I imagine what they would say and I try to account for it too. I try to make sure that yes, I think this, but this person would have this interpretation, and surely there’s something to that? But then I never say anything completely, purely, spontaneously. I am always partly other people. And I wonder, how much of me am I sacrificing so that I keep the idea that this other person makes sense. Maybe if I stripped away the layers of long-settled social dust I would see what I really thought, and that it is nothing like this other person says. But I want to keep my friends and so I convince myself that they must be right.

    It is a very difficult thing to be honest.

    What I’ve learned from relationship talk is that you should never try to predict the other person’s thoughts. 

    If you only argue in general, you will only prove in general. But there’s no person who is ‘in general’.

    I hear all the things you do not ask; they say you do not care. Perhaps you did not think to ask them. But there are ways we should be that perhaps we do not know about. We must stay awake.

    There are always subtle goals implied by your actions. If you talk about the best kind of investments, your goal is a financially successful life. If you talk about philosophy a lot, it’s to not have any friends. If you are always smiling, it’s to not face the bad things of life. I wonder what the goal of my life has accidentally turned out to be.

    You spend all your time planning your pleasures. How much time do you spend planning others’ pleasures?

    People who haven’t been loved carry around a need to be loved, and they react more negatively when they feel people are being critical rather than loving. If they had been affirmed in the past, they wouldn’t be so sensitive. Everyone needs someone they know will cheer them on, no matter what.

    There is this idea of ‘reaching’ for people. Some people you want to know about, to understand, to be near them. You desire the experience of who they are, the things they do, the things they say, the thoughts they think. Not in a hugely intimate way, but just in a real one, one where you both realize it is good to know people, and so you are happy that there is someone else who knows the good things in life, and that they’re here and willing to partake in it. But when you only ever reach for people, and they stay on their perch, their ledge, and don’t even seem to realize that you’re doing this intentional reaching, it seems horrible, like you might as well not only just not be reaching, but that you might as well not even be there at all. Sometimes you wonder if you just floated around if people would reach for you.

    You think your life will stay the same, but it all disappears.

    The only question is – what does a man do who is only forced to, but does not truly exist in this world? When the world is not your home, how do you treat it?

  • Nervously awaiting a sandwich

    When I live in the suburbs with my wife and family I am going to have an electronic news scroller that shows all the recent headlines for our household.  That way everyone walking by will know what’s going on.  ‘Wife wants chicken for dinner, husband suggests meatloaf’   ‘Janie grounded 2 weeks after missing curfew’  ‘Dad wins Monopoly for record 7th straight time in a row, wife and kids grouchily resentful’. 

    You know how there are some jeans that come with paint splotches or tears already in them?  Kids buy those jeans because they are the cool jeans.  Well I think they should come out with butter that has bread crumbs or dollops of jelly already in it.  That will be the cool butter.  Then kids will go, ‘What? You’re buying the regular butter?  So not cool,’ while rolling their eyes.   

    Just once I want to see a cop checking his facebook on the giant computers they have in patrol cars.

    They should come out with a Bond spinoff where he wears rags instead of suits and introduces himself, “Vagabond.  James Vagabond.”

    If I were a police officer I would designate each kind of car as a Pokémon.  Yellow bugs would be Pikachu, red mustangs would be Charizard, and so on.  Then on highway patrols the goal would be to give each one a speeding ticket.  Gotta catch ‘em all. 

    (Maybe hand them the Pokémon card with the ticket.  *grins evilly*)

    I try to make jokes but I don’t think my friends realize that.  If they did I think they would probably stop being friends with me.  ‘Guys, did you know Phil tries to be funny?’  ‘He does?’  ‘Yeah.  I had no idea either. Apparently this has been going on for a couple years.’ 

    That’s ok.  I’m fine with it being my little secret.