April 13, 2012

  • Impulsivity is freedom (sometimes)

    It’s been a pretty stupid last couple weeks.  I mean….I guess weeks can’t be stupid.  I’ve been stupid.  That’s what I meant to say.

    One day I was looking everywhere for my car key.  I had thrown it in the trash can on the sidewalk. 

    A day later I dropped my cell phone in the trash and when I pulled it out it was all slimy.  So I rinsed it – very quickly - in the sink.  No matter how many people I tell this story to, they all laugh at me.  Was I supposed to know that this was a bad idea?

    Nothing happened at first, but in the middle of the night the phone started vibrating and wouldn’t stop.  He died a slow, painful death.  I had work that morning and no sure way to wake up so my body just kept waking up out of nervousness.  Nervousness is the best alarm clock.

    My little brother has been really funny recently.  The other day he said: “You know, technology gives parents huge leverage over their kids for doing chores. They can say ‘Clean your room or you can’t play any video games.’  What did they do before video games? ‘Clean you room or you can’t do your crossword puzzle.’”

    He just comes up to me and says these things.

    Yesterday in class my ancient astronomy teacher asked, “And Kepler was able to form his theories based on all the data gathered by….?”

    No one answered him so from the back of the classroom I said, ‘Brah’.  He said, “Yes, Tyco Brahe.”

    What can I say.  Brahe was my broheim. 

    Yesterday I got a bike and I am very excited for it.  Was I ever excited for new toys as a kid?  I’m not sure.  If I ever have been, it’s been awhile, but I am very excited to ride a bike places.  Of course, I should have gotten a bike five years ago for college, so I guess I am five years behind.  But that’s ok, because maybe while I’m riding I’ll see cars with Bush for President bumper stickers, and that will make me feel better.

    My cell phone, by the way, has made a gradual recovery.

    Hmmm….looking over this I realize that ‘ancient astronomy teacher’ might be taken to mean the class is ancient astronomy.  The teacher is old.  That is the point.  Ancient astronomy doesn’t really make sense….because it makes too much sense.  Most astronomy is about the distant past.  You might as well take a course in numerical math, outdoor meteorology, or elitist world cinema.

    Be creative today! And remember if your knees aren’t green by the end of the day…you may need to seriously re-examine your life.

Comments (1)

  • Hehehehe! Numerical math… Like this post. ^_^ I’m going paintballing for the first time ever today! I’m going to come back full of colorful paint and bruises all over and it will be AWESOME.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *