Month: October 2005

  • I've been stressed.  How do I know?  Chess club feels like a relief.


    If I was on the ballot, I wonder how many votes I could get for Hilliard's Board of Education by just placing signs with my last name in large print all over Hilliard, as the current nominees do.  How many votes does that get you?  If I were voting I would just show up and vote for the name I saw the most frequently on signs.


    I went to the library recently.  One thing you can be sure of is if something ever happens in the world, someone is going to write a very large book about it.


    The best smiles do not come from the perfectly aligned and immaculately whitened teeth.  For to me, a smile worth knowing are those that are flawed and marred; perhaps with only a few teeth left.  Are those not the smiles that are meant as true indications of joy?  An unblemished smile does not hesitate to appear, but the defective mouth will conceal it's interworkings.  Therefore, herald the loathsome smiler!         


    I think I am going to sell Canada for a commercial.  Any other ideas?


    This night is finite, so why not have a fine night?


    Farewell.


     

  • Life is fleeting, and I take time out of my day for a xanga entry.  See how much I love you?


    There is little hope for my generation.  We speak of settling on Mars someday while we meanwhile have demised into struggling to generate the will power to carry our styrofoam lunch trays 50 feet to the trash can to make someone else's job easier.  And before that burden of the flesh, we also fail to take the loathsome and incalcuable second to push in our chair!  Let's work out cafeteria cleanliness first, for I am certain the Martians would not find it in good company for us to settle there and consequently litter in their food courts. 


    Did you know the human body is 100% water?


    Just remember, if you ever lose a game of tic tac toe, it was your fault.


    Lord of the Rings Risk seems like a likely venture for Friday.  What will you be doing?


    I really really hope you have a good night.        


     

  • WARNING: You must be under 21 years of age to view this page. If you are not then please leave immediately.

    (waits for adults to leave)

    Hello everyone!

    I really dislike being subject to emotions.  Now, try to understand, I'm not some sort of austere and deranged person who hates emotions because they are expression at all.  It just becomes annoying to be so entirely cognizant of my state of mind that I can think "I am now entering the state called 'anger'" or "I am now 'sad'"

    From my perspective, emotions, whether good or bad, seem to reign over human will.  Even when deciding what to do we have decide whether we "feel" like it.

    For instance, say the family was going bowling.  It just so happens at that particular moment that you don't feel like bowling.  Where did this feeling come from?  My first impression is to say, straight from hell.  Honestly, in such a situation I wish I would feel like bowling, but the sovereignty of emotions is supreme. 

    But in the end, the predicament turns out to be a conundrum: I am angry that I am subject to my emotions.

    The PSAT was decent.  I didn't know the word "sultry." Sigh. 

    Hey, I'll see you guys later.  Peace and Grace.

  • (Thursday morning at Hilliard Davidson High School.  The staff of the building gather in the media center before school for a weekly meeting.)


    Mr. Bandow:  Thanks for coming everyone,  you all know how very important this meeting is.  I'm going to go ahead and draw unless anyone has any objections. Anyone? (silence).  Okay, then, here I go.


    (Mr. Bandow puts his hand in a large bin of pieces of paper, mixes them up for a moment, and then draws one of them)


    Mr. Bandow: Ehh, let's see here.  (reading the piece of paper) "Mary Nelson" Any of you know her?  (silence)


    Mr. Dempsey:  Actually I have a nomination.  A student of mine, Philip Mendola.


    (There are murmurs of agreement around the room.  Soon everyone in the room stands up and applaudes the nomination)


    Mr. Bandow:  Very well then, it seems like everyone agrees.  Now that we have selected our student victim of the week, I'll just remind those of you who have him as a student to give him homework in your class for the weekend.  And remember not just some homework, but it must enough to drive him  to the point of insanity.  Thanks for coming everyone, see you next week.


    (The meeting to decide which student shall have homework in every class for the weekend is concluded, and another student spends the weekend in the doldrums)


     


    Go ---> Google.com ---> Images ---> nebula


    Extremely awesome things they are.


    Hope you have a great week.  Class of 2007 vs. the PSAT.  Go team.


    Goodnight.

  • "If what you want is an argument against Christianity (and I well remember how eagerly I looked for such arguments when I began to be afraid it was true) you can easily find some stupid and unsatisfactory Christian and say, 'So there's your boasted new man! Give me the old kind.'  But if once you have begun to see that Christianity is on other grounds probable, you will know in your heart that this is only evading the issue.  What can you ever really know of other people's souls -- of their temptations, their opportunities, their struggles?  One soul in the whole creation do you know: and it is the only one whose fate is placed in your hands.  If there is a God, you are, in a sense, alone with Him.  You cannot put Him off in speculations about your next door neighbors or memories of what you have read in books.  What will all that chatter and hearsay count (will you even be able to remember it?) when the anaesthetic fog which we call 'nature' or 'the real world' fades away and the presence in which you have always stood becomes palpable, immediate, and unavoidable?"

    -C.S. Lewis, Mere Christianity.