Month: October 2006

  • Well, hello!

    There is currently a very ironic overlapping of human reaction to anomalous global affairs and human reaction to annual seasonal shift.

    And by that I mean we are living in a unique time where it is very plausible that a person will wake up, and after slowly getting ready for the day they will then read the newspaper, which will most likely include reports on the plausibility of the end of the world because of global warming.  Immediately after this they will have to go and upon scuttling out the door remark, “Damn, it’s cold.” 

    Bye!

  • (While driving on the highway. My little brother Paul is nine.)

    Grace:  Wow! Look at all the cars for the funeral.
    Paul:  Maybe it was a pastor. 

  • I have found the test to determine whether a person is an optimist or a realist. 

    Roaming around public places I’m sure many people other than myself may have upon accident and while walking spotted a candy wrapper lying some ways away on the ground.  From the angle of view it seems that the candy wrapper has not yet been opened and holds a tasty treat waiting inside.  What a find!  But alas, over the years I have time upon time learned only after picking up the wrapper that I was deceived; the candy had already been opened and eaten!  It only seemed like it was still there.

    And there is your test.  An optomist will continue to believe in the chance of a piece of candy luckily having been dropped by some small child, unfound by any other pedestrian yet.  On the other hand the realist will stride by, and scoff at the ostensibly full wrapper, realizing the Truth. 

    Which are you?

  • Here is something I was thinking about:

    What is the percent chance you have of answering this question right?

    A.  20%
    B.  40%
    C.  20%
    D.  60%
    E.   80%

    Now, starting with the fact that there are five answers, the first inclination anyone should make is that they have a 1 in 5 chance to select correctly, or 20%.  Thus, he or she looks for 20% in the possible answers.  But there are two 20% options, thus increasing the percent chance of the person to 40%.  This makes the answer A, B, and C.  However, now that there are three correct solutions the percent chance is now 60%, or D.  Now we can automatically assume that 4 of the 5 answers are right, which is 80%, choice E. 

    Therefore any and all answers are acceptable.  But this makes the correct answer 100%, which is not listed.  And if the correct answer is not listed, the real percent chance to answer correctly is 0%.  That is interesting: the fact that the correct answer is not there changes what the correct answer actually is. 

    Just to let you know, there is no point to this.  It was just fun to think about.

  • Hurry in, hurry in!  These fall days foster a gelid bite, you know.

    The scenario was typical: late at night, a large paper to write, and the paragraphs I had already already seemed too insufficient.

    I decided to call it quits at around 11:30 (hardly the stamina I used to have!) on my AP government paper.  Our instruction was to compare the views of the two gubernatorial candidates in our state, Ken Blackwell and Ted Strickland, on the main issues. 

    That night I dreamt the world was ending.  However, I cared very little about that fact.  In the dream the only thing I seemed to care about was collecting the opposing views and plans of the two candidates about what they would each do for Ohio since the world was ending.  Predictably, each promised that although it was the end of the world that they would not raise taxes.   

    One of these nights I want to plan my schedule deliberately so that I will have the weirdest dream possible.  For instance, start the evening by going to a birthday party, then come home and read a history book, and then watch a sci-fi movie.  If all works accordingly I should dream about the Continental Congress having cake brought to them by Dolly Madison for Jefferson’s birthday, but when John Jay and all the other Federalists turn out to be aliens the entire room instantly becomes a battlefield, with balloons acting as an added strategical variable and blasters on each side for weapons.  Or something like that. 

    Welp, no time for that tonight.  I suppose I will only dream of potential eProps. 

    So long!

  • “It’s official, strangers have the best candy.”

    -Katie Daniels, at School House Rock tonight. 

  • My brother is ridiculous.  The last thing he does each night before he goes to bed each night is eat a snack. 

    I just went into the kitchen to be welcomed by his head bouncing up to greet me with eye contact, and I talked with him for a minute. 

    During this interaction he revealed to me he had been looking for something to eat for the last thirty minutes.  Stories-made-up-for-fun aside, he literally had been pacing around the kitchen between the cupboards, refridgerator, and pantry debating with himself what he should eat for a full half-hour.  He is the most contemplative snack-selector I have ever met.  Minutes later he reached the resolution of his snack-seeking plot with a pack of frozen hot dogs in hand. 

    He’s only nine right now, just think when he is old enough to go through the drive-thru at fast food restaurants.  Poor Wendy’s employee.  “Sir, please, it’s really not that important, just pick something.” 

    Greatnight!

  • “It’s like having an Xbox without any video games.”

                   -My Christian brother Danny, on being a Christian and knowing God but not spending any time with him.

  • Think of all the people that have lived. 

    I am firmly convinced the greatest story, the greatest song, and the greatest poem were never written.  Many people have streamed their thoughts from mind to pen to paper, but I suppose the greatest writers there ever were never knew it, or didn’t have the spirit to try.  The same goes for athletics.  Somewhere in history, I’m sure, was a football player greater than Ian Thorpe, a runner faster than Jim Ryun, and a basketball player better than Michael Jordan.

    Do not be afraid to try.  It could be you.