May 17, 2011

  • The Past Few Days (things I love)

    I love the uncrusted bites of a grilled cheese sandwich.

    The moment you get to put your head under the shower, letting the water crash down on you like a sentient rock with its own personal waterfall.

    That my friend Sam Johns thought he was an elf when he was a kid.

    The thought that freed balloons never pop.

    That Oscar Wilde wrote a long letter dripping with honesty about life and the truth while in prison.

    Windshield wipers that smoothly and swiftly do their job to perfection.

    When friends join you in going around and each giving a speech in praise of one part of the human body.

    That it’s a huge public world that we all get to share and enjoy, but that we are also each deeply private worlds that only we can know.

    Driving through exploding fire hydrants.

    Going into work and saying to my boss, ‘You may dispense with the pleasantries, commander. I am here to put you back on schedule.’

    That people get together and do Viking reenactments.

    Telling people that I don’t text.

    That you can decide what to say at any second.

    Floppy ear lobes.

    When people see me with a beard for the first time.

    Making French toast with Italian bread and saying ‘Hola!’ to your first bite.

    When you order successfully at a restaurant.

    That life is big, and it’s just getting going.  That God has grace, and I could never earn it.  That summer is coming, and my best friend is still in my life. 

    That we all get to do this thing called life together.

    Summer is coming.  Beat the sun to smiling on the world.  Hope you’re all doing well, friends.

Comments (3)

  • “Beat the sun to smiling on the world.”
    I will cherish this thought and do my best to accomplish it.

  • I shall have to look into the Oscar Wilde letter! I was unaware of its existence.

  • the uncrusted bites of a grilled cheese sandwich. Check.
    The thought that freed balloons never pop. Check.
    That Oscar Wilde wrote a long letter dripping with honesty about life and the truth while in prison. Check.
    That people get together and do Viking reenactments. Check.
    Making French toast with Italian bread and saying ‘Hola!’ to your first bite. Check.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *